Media Kit
Talk to us

News Nov 19, 2019 - 9:16:01 PM

Norwalk Common Council Leadership & Committee Assignments Announced

By City of Norwalk Mayor's Office

Font size: Small Big
Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Share this article:
facebook Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
Buy the "As seen on" mug
Norwalk, CT - Tonight, the new leadership roles and committee assignments for Norwalk Common Council were announced. At-large Democrat Barbara Smyth will serve as Council President. Smyth is the second female Council President in Norwalk history, and the first in nearly 50 years, following Patsy Brescia, who served as Council President in 1971-1972. At-large Democrat Greg Burnett will serve as Majority Leader, and District D Republican Tom Keegan will serve as Minority Leader.

Following Mayor Harry Rilling’s reorganization of City government over the last 18 months, which included the creation of a new Community Services Department, two of the Council Committees were renamed this term to better reflect these duties and responsibilities. These changes include renaming the Health, Welfare, & Public Safety Committee to the Health & Public Safety Committee, and renaming the Personnel Committee to the Community Services & Personnel Committee.

The Finance & Claims Committee will be chaired by Burnett; the Health & Public Safety Committee will be chaired by at-large Democrat Nick Sacchinelli; the Land Use & Building Management Committee will be chaired by District E Democrat Tom Livingston; the Ordinance Committee will be chaired by at-large Democrat Colin Hosten; the Community Services & Personnel Committee will be chaired by Smyth; the Planning Committee will be chaired by District C Democrat John Kydes; the Public Works Committee will be chaired by District D Democrat George Tsiranides; and the Recreation, Parks, & Cultural Affairs Committee will be chaired by District B Democrat Darlene Young.

The Common Council was sworn in tonight for its two-year term, 2019-2021. Council leadership is for one year, with new assignments announced in late 2020. The Norwalk Common Council meets the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:30 p.m. at Norwalk City Hall.

© Copyright by Some articles and pictures posted on our website, as indicated by their bylines, were submitted as press releases and do not necessarily reflect the position and opinion of, Stamford Plus magazine, Canaiden LLC or any of its associated entities. Articles may have been edited for brevity and grammar. Photos without a credit line are "contributed photos".

Note: We reserve the right to delete posts at any time if we decide that they are offensive or distasteful.
Norwalk City Hall moving to limited staff and services amidst COVID-19 pandemic
Wilton Library’s drive thru window keeps people rolling
Mystic Seaport Museum to Close Temporarily March 13
SilverSource Announces Updated Measures to Ensure Stamford’s Senior Population Continues to Be Supported During Coronavirus Outbreak
Stamford Public Schools Announces All Schools Will Be Closed March 13 through March 27

Top of Page
 is part of the Canaiden Online Media Network.
Stamford Plus Online | Norwalk Plus Online | | Best of Norwalk | Best of Stamford | Hauterfly Magazine |

Copyright ©2005-2010 Canaiden,LLC All Rights Reserved.